Our Hystories #1: Why This Blog Exists

blog pic 4  On June 7th, 2013 I was admitted to our local emergency room due to uncontrollable vaginal bleeding.  I had been dealing with heavier and heavier periods over the last two years, but lately they were getting ridiculous.  I was missing days at work as well as social gatherings.  I was exploring some of the options to deal with this issue with my doctor.  However, everything came to a head on June 7th. 

   I made a last minute appointment with my doctor since the bleeding seemed out of control.  My doctor soon sent me to the emergency department to see the on-call gynecologist.  The gynecologist sent me for an ultrasound and they could see one 3cm fibroid that seemed to be causing all the problems.  I was given some heavy duty medication and was told to go home and the bleeding would stop within the hour.  We set up an appointment for the next week to meet with the gynecologist to discuss the next steps. 

  After being at home for 2 hours with no change in the amount of blood I was losing, I returned to the hospital.  The nursing staff then spent the next 18 hours or so trying to get the bleeding under control.  They finally did so by Saturday evening.  I then spent the next several days in hospital, being monitored while doctors tried to decide where we should go from there.  I was eventually scheduled for a hysterectomy for Monday evening.  Everything went very well and I was sent home Tuesday afternoon.  I have since been at home recovering and everything seems to be going well. 

  As I began to feel more energized, I started researching information on hysterectomy and really could not find the kind of information I was looking for.  I wanted to know the details of the procedure I just underwent, when and why people have hysterectomies, things I should be watching for post-surgery, and so on.  That is why I am creating this blog.  I want this to be a place where people can read about the experiences of others, find links to great resources, and learn a little more about hysterectomy as well as some of the alternatives out there.  As I have said before, I have no medical experience and nothing on this blog should be taken as medical advice.  However, I know I learn a lot from the stories of others and I hope to share such stories here in hopes that you may learn something too.  Please feel free to explore the blog and contact me with any questions or if you would be willing to share your story here.

3 thoughts on “Our Hystories #1: Why This Blog Exists

  1. Hi Just to let you know there is a really good website called the hysterectomy association http://www.hysterectomy-association.org.uk/
    which is a great resource. You can also join a monthly group on the forum where everyone has had their operation in the same month as you. I was a “September Star,” but that was nearly 3 years ago now! It’s great to compare notes and find out how everyone else is doing. It’s nice to talk to those who are experiencing the pains and swellings at the same time you. A great support network.

  2. joolzac says:

    I guess there are many varied reasons for having hysterectomies.. mine was a no question about it thing. I had ongoing issues even after going through menopause to the point where my uterus and its behaviour started engulfing my life… I am 6 weeks post op. Little to no major problems, and am looking forward to getting the all clear to get back to normal activities this week when I see the surgeon. One can’t be flippant about this surgery.. it IS major surgery, and whether it’s your choice or foisted upon you, take it easy, look after yourself, and don’t let anyone push you to get on with things earlier than you feel able to. You won’t do yourself any favours… I really didn’t have time to look for information… so this should be a great resource for those still contemplating what to do.
    Good job!

    • melbowman says:

      All very true! I look forward to reading about your continuing journey. I can’t wait for my 6 week post-op, but it’s still 3 weeks away! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

