Guest Post: From the blog “A Wordsmith’s Thoughts”

In creating this blog, I want to provide you with access to great information and stories. One story I have enjoyed following lately, can be found here:

http://wordsmithxx.wordpress.com/2013/05/18/girl-talk/

Here is her post that got me started following her. You may want to visit her site as there have been some interesting developments since she first posted this!

Girl Talk…

Sorry gents, you may want to skip this entry; girl issues.
Planning to read anyway? Don’t say you weren’t warned.

When I was younger, my periods were completely irregular, not at all painful, and very light for only a few days. After having The Boy, they changed to slightly more regular, mild cramping, and longer; more “normal” I guess you could call them. Then I had a c-section to deliver the twins, and had to practically beg to get the doctor to do a hysterectomy. However, being only 27, they flat out refused, which totally ticks me off, but that’s another issue altogether. Instead I asked for a tubal ligation (have my tubes tied). I signed the medical and legal forms, against medical advice (because of my young age-27), and I was given the tubal.

I was, at the age of 27, a parent of 3 children under the age of 4 and in the middle of a college education. There was also the looming statistic (which very well might be different now) that claimed if you naturally conceive twins or other higher order multiples, the chances of you repeating that type of pregnancy the next time you conceive is quite a bit higher than the average bear. Umm…NO THANK YOU. I hated being pregnant both times, and being pregnant with twins is NOT twice the niftiness. I was done having kids.

The tubal was the best decision EVER. Except…

While having a tubal ligation makes you almost 100% protected against unwanted pregnancy, and makes you able to set a clock by your period starting, it increases the PMS, tenfold, in the many women who have the procedure done. I moved from PMS to legitimate PMDD and a fabulous case of menorrhagia.  I have been living with this debilitating disorder for almost 13 years now. My kids have had enough, and my poor husband has had enough. I have finally had enough. I cried uncle, and made an appointment with my regular doctor to discuss the issue. My doctor is a wonderful lady who is rare in that she actually takes the time to sit and simply talk to her patients. I sat with her for 30 minutes, crying, going over the 4 pages of notes and time tables and list of symptoms I have. I told her I didn’t necessarily want a hysterectomy anymore, that there are now plenty of other less invasive alternatives. After I had gotten it all out, she simply told me to pick my gynecologist.

I chose the man that saw me through both pregnancies and delivered the twins. I had my consultation appointment last week, and the he began the first step to the outpatient surgery I am supposed to have in another 2 or 3 weeks: an endometrial ablation.  

The first step in the process was to give me an endometrial biopsy to make certain there are no precancerous or cancerous cells all up in there. I have a relatively high pain threshold, but this HURT. Think annual pap but the tiny pinch and pull that kinda stings and is over in about 10 seconds, goes on for at least one full minute, and involves scraping along with the pinch and pull. This awfulness is in conjunction with this topical numbing spray that at first burns, then after 30 seconds causes your heart to race and beat out of your chest, and your limbs to tremble almost uncontrollably for about a minute. Needless to say, I did a fair bit of crying.

Loudly.

After that fresh hell, the nurse came in and gave me a shot with a thick needle. It had to be thick because it contained a small pellet. Did I mention that this was injected into my stomach? The shot was something called Zoladex, and is meant to dry up my uteral lining. The doc told me that it would level out this month’s period, essentially making it like it should be. I might have professed my undying love at that point. And let me tell you, it has been lovely. And bonus? I haven’t even started my period. It was a magic shot. It was like my very own unicorn. It is friggin fantastic. The next step was to get a clear biopsy to proceed (which I did, YAY!), and now my procedure will be scheduled. I will call doc on Monday, set another chat appointment, and schedule the ablation.

An endometrial ablation can be done a few different ways, but since I am not a doc, and I know I will screw up the explaining of it, I will leave any interested parties to look it up. I will tell you that the desired outcome for most women who have the procedure, is a complete cessation of menstruation. It is an outpatient procedure that I will have on a Friday morning so I can be back at work on Monday.  It will not get rid of the other symptoms, but it should mute them a bit. My biggest issue and concern now is stopping the menorrhagia. If for some reason there are complications, or it doesn’t take (of which there is a small risk), I can then schedule the hysterectomy, and hope to keep my ovaries.

Bottom line? I am scared. What if it hurts worse than I am told? What if it makes things worse not better every month? What if I go through all that, and then have to have the hysterectomy anyway? What if? What if? What if? I wish I knew.

Being a woman sucks sometimes. At least my husband has been completely supportive and understanding through this process.

Leave a Reply

