All Clear

Image  I had my 6 week post-operative doctor visit this week and got the news that everything has healed wonderfully.  That is what I expected but it was nice to have the official word.  Having laproscopic surgery versus an abdominal hysterectomy set me up for a quicker recovery (2-4 weeks instead of 4-6 weeks).  However, my gynecologist booked my appointment in for 6 weeks after surgery.  I spent the last 2 weeks in a bit of limbo then.  I was feeling fine and knew that average recovery time is no more than 4 weeks, assuming all goes well.  However, I was also told not to resume regular activities until after I got the go ahead from my doctor.  2 weeks in the summer here, with beautiful weather and many tempting activities like bike riding, running, and swimming, made that time go by slowly.  I did do some basic bike riding in that time but that was about it.  I didn’t want to risk doing something and end up with an even longer recovery time.  Needless to say, I was very much looking forward to my post-op appointment then.

  The appointment itself was interesting.  I had been told by several women to expect to wait a long time before getting in to see the doctor.  I did bring reading material but apparently not enough!  I ended up waiting one hour before I got in.  Not too bad I suppose but I tend to like everything to run exactly on time.  The time in the waiting room though gave me some time to go over some of the questions I wanted to ask the doctor.  During my recovery I came up with many things I wanted to know more about, as did many of my friends (Oh, can you ask your doctor this…) so I had written down a lot of questions.  I narrowed down the list while in the waiting room to about 5 or 6 key questions.

  Finally it was my turn to head into one of the doctor’s rooms.  I figured I would be waiting here for a long time too.  However, my doctor walked in about a minute after the nurse sent me in – whoa!  She had a lookey-loo at everything and said it was perfect and that I could resume all regular activities.  And then she was getting ready to walk out of the room.  Oh no – I have a list…questions…wait!  Unfortunately I was stuck on the doctor’s table in no position to run and grab my list.  I quick asked the doctor one or two of my questions (the ones I could remember!) and then off she went!  Not at all like I had planned.  I expected to come out of there as an expert in all things hysterectomy related 🙂  I did find out that my family doctor has a copy of her reports so I am trying to get a copy of those.  But other than that, I know no more about my hysterectomy than I did when I went into that room.  My whole time in that room was complete in literally less than 5 minutes.  When I returned to the waiting room to meet my husband he looked at me wondering how I could be standing there again so soon.  Oh well.  I will talk to my family doctor soon and hopefully get a little more information from him.  Right now, I’m just happy to have a clean bill of health.  Now I need to get ready for my first run in a long time – yay!

Do you feel like you get enough time with your doctor?  Do you have any tips on how to get the information you want from health care professionals?

3 thoughts on “All Clear

  1. bernasvibe says:

    This is GREAT news! I’m due to have mine on August 12th and I have never had surgery of any type prior..Mine is going to be least invasive I’m told cause a robot(robot arms) will assist my surgeon in performing my full hysterectomy…Are there any tips you can give me pre-surgery? Are you taking hormones? How did it impact your body? I’ve been given personal and private “tips” on how to deal with the adjustment of my utuerus post surgery..I’ve worked HARD on my body over the years and the VAIN part of me is glad my women friends pre-warned me..How are the symptoms of losing both ovaries? So many questions and I appreciate your responses…and CONGRATS on being finished..I am almost THERE

    • melbowman says:

      I don’t have a lot of pre-surgery tips as mine was an emergency so I had zero time to prepare! I have since read a book that was helpful “The Essential Guide to Hysterectomy”. I didn’t have ovaries removed so no need to take any hormones. I was really happy with how little impact the whole surgery had. I really had minimal discomfort following surgery. I was really tired for the first few days and somewhat tired for the next two weeks after that. I have been so happy to have had the surgery though and look forward to getting back to all of my regular activities now.

      • bernasvibe says:

        That is SO encouraging to hear first-hand from someone whose been there, done that..Really glad to hear yours was a success though..Yay!

Leave a Reply

