What’s Happening Now?

ImageThat is what my body is asking me right now, especially my legs.  I went out for my first post-operative “run” this week.  I say “run” because normally these endeavours seem more like really fast and awkward walking.  And given that this was the first run I had been on in many weeks, that akwardness was even more obvious.  However, it still felt great to be out there, using my legs like that again.

This last week has been quite interesting for me.  I had been waiting to get the ‘all clear’ from my doctor last week.  Being the good patient that I am, I really followed most of the rules from my surgeon about taking it easy for 6 weeks; no running, no swimming, no biking.  Okay, that last rule may have been broken a couple of times but I biked really slow 🙂  I was feeling quite confident that everything was healing well but still wanted to hear it from my doctor.

Sure enough, my surgeon checked things out and said I could resume all regular activities – yay!  So I went from not lifting things, carrying things, and generally just being a big ol’ sac of potatoes, to being able to do all sorts of things.  I probably could have started most of these activities earlier, but I really did not want to hurt anything by accident.  Besides, how often can I justifiably get out of housecleaning, chores, and all of those nasty to-do lists?

Anyways, I headed out on my run and thought I should keep it extra short, given it was my first one back.  However, once I got going, it was wonderful.  I ended up going about double the distance I had planned (which still is not that far!).  I was feeling pretty good about myself once I returned home.  Waking up the next morning though, I was quickly reminded of how long it has been since I had expected my body to do so much!  Every step I take reminds me of it now though!  Although I am happy to report that it is only my leg and hip muscles that are bothering me and nothing surgery-related.  I’m even starting to look forward to another run soon.

Leave a Reply

