Setting The Stage

Another new blog that might be worth following…check it out.

Finding Hope In Change

Hi all! I’m Leah, the “voice” of this blog. I thought my first post should “set the stage” for why I am blogging so here goes. I am 40 years old and living with the BRCA1 gene. What is the BRCA1 gene you ask? The easiest way to explain it is with two words: Angelina Jolie. I never thought I’d have something in common with her but I do! I truly wish it was a more fun connection, perhaps a love of acting or global activism? No, just genetics…and sucky ones at that.

In 2007 I made the choice to have a Bilateral Prophylactic Mastectomy at the age of 33, I was also single (no Brad Pitt to support me). The thought of dating and, ultimately, being intimate with someone post reconstruction concerned me. How was a man going to accept a woman with these scars and genetic…

View original post 362 more words

Leave a Reply

