Endometrial Ablation – a personal view

I have been happy to see that there are more people blogging about their experiences with hysterectomies. However, there still seems to be so little information on this procedure – endometrial ablation. This was one of the options offered to me when I was dealing with these issues but it was so hard to find any information. Since I did not end up getting this procedure done, I hope others, such as this woman, continue to blog about it so the information gets out there.

Lullingstone Photography

This week I underwent a gynaecological procedure called an endometrial ablation.

Without going into too much detail, it was because I had been having really heavy periods to the point that it was difficult to function and no medication made any difference to the pain or flow.

My gynaecologist advised that this procedure should help with this ( and with the endometriosis that causes the problems) and it was pretty much this or a hysterectomy. At the age of 44, and with only 1 ovary, I thought I should try it.

The procedure itself was straight forward and uncomplicated and you can read more about the procedure here.

I had done a lot of research about this on the internet and most forums seemed to have entries by “super women” who say that they have had the procedure done and been back to work and back to normal the next…

View original post 479 more words

Leave a Reply

