HERstory-Coming Out of the Shadows to Tell Our Story

There are so many issues around hysterectomies, fibroids, endometriosis, etc that get very little ‘press time’ but are very important issues nonetheless. Here’s one more voice in one of those conversations that need to be happening more often.

Maybe Mama

Art Work: Women of Soul by Glenn Daniels We are a Sisterhood as we go though this journey together.Art Work: Women of Soul by Glenn Daniels
We are a Sisterhood as we go though this journey together.

Its encouraging to find now that I’m not alone. I’ve always known I’m not alone in fighting fibroids and infertility, but recently I’ve seen more Black women sharing their stories. The lack of discussion and transparency in the Black community inspired me to start this blog. I knew several women my age and older that have gone through this, but no one talked about it or used it as a testimony. Now I slowly see more and more Black women speaking up on this issue, and I love it!

Yesterday, I was inspired by a woman named Gessie Thompson. In the May issue of Essence magazine, she shares her story. I had the good fortune to hear her as a guest on a radio show as I drove home yesterday. She…

View original post 420 more words

Leave a Reply

