20 Weeks Pregnant (But Actually Not)

Ah, yes, our dear friend, fibroids! I have said it before but I will say it again..and again…and then some more! I think it is crazy that this topic is not discussed more often. I had not heard of fibroids and the problems they can cause until several years into dealing with some of their horrible symptoms. This needs to change!

Not finding myself, but creating myself

My name is Danielle and I have fibroids.

Fibroids are benign tumours which are sensitive to an excess of oestrogen, and grow in or attached to your womb. Actually, it is the excess oestrogen which causes them to grow.

I recently found out that my fibroids have grown– they’ve grown bigger and they’ve grown in number. The biggest ones are around 6cm now. That’s the size of a tennis ball.

IMG_2184.PNG

My womb, which should be about the size of a pear, and reach up to about normal bikini line, is now up to my belly button. The size it would be at 20 weeks in to a pregnancy. And the tennis ball tumours and their golf ball sized buddies are filling the right hand side of my lower abdomen, displacing and squashing the things that should be there. Like my intestines and bladder.

Fibroids are…

View original post 687 more words

Leave a Reply

